new | old | sign | clix | more | about | e-mail | design | host


dharmaqueen.diaryland.com

commence spilling
2005-07-14 @ 4:27 p.m.

i'm seeing built to spill tonight. yay yay yay.

it seems i see them every 3 years or so. and i've only gone to see them by myself, and always when i'm amid some major transition period in my life. and so i continue this ritual tonight.

the first time was at the wow hall in eugene, after my core friends had moved to boston and i was re-establishing myself there. i volunteered to work the door that night and stamped bassist brett nelson's hand. oh indie rock swoon.

the second time was at the 9:30 club in dc, not long after the september 11, not long after LL broke up with me for the final time and i was trying to put my life back together every which way.

so maybe next time i see them, a few years from now, i'll be able to look back at tonight when i saw them in san francisco, and realize what i building or rebuilding or moving through.

when i first heard modest mouse, i realized they totally remind me of built to spill. since then i've thought of built to spill as the precursor to modest mouse. so it's funny that lead singer doug martsch is quoted in the sf weekly as saying, "I don't want to be as famous as Modest Mouse."

<< - >>

content property of me.