new | old | sign | clix | more | about | e-mail | design | host


dharmaqueen.diaryland.com

writing on BART
2004-03-12 @ 9:18 a.m.

for a variety of reasons, i needed distance from my life in DC. i needed to step back to allow for the tears, laughter, healing and perspective that sometimes only comes with the 3000 miles kind of distance.

i wrote a poem--a song really--called 3000 miles when i first moved to DC. i think 3000 miles part II may be in the works.

they were my glory days, in a way. and, in all truth, i think i have a series of such glory days. different phases, different places.

today i feel humbled, on my knees in front of the life i left. the life i left for something else, even though i don't know what that is yet.

on BART, as i finished writing that, the driver announced over the intercom, "Welcome to San Francisco. Embarcadero." Exactly.

at montgomery street, two trains arrived at the same--and no, this isn't a mathematical word problem---and the cattle-like sea of commuters funneled me up the escalators into my new life.

<< - >>

content property of me.