new | old | sign | clix | more | about | e-mail | design | host


dharmaqueen.diaryland.com

raining and missing
2004-02-25 @ 9:31 a.m.

Well, it's completely like a DC summer storm here. And I wore jeans which somehow suck in all the rain. So I'll be lucky enough to be sitting in wet denim all day. It's pouring, completely pouring. Gutters filled and rushing. Pounding raindrops reverberating and exploding off the cement sidewalk where the hit. And my jeans are still wet.

What's more, I'm incredibly homesick for DC. And today's rain only reminds me of fantastic summer storms there. The way they build up when the humidity just gets to be too much, even for the sky. The sky which begins to turn a particular darkening gray. Almost a violet. The wind begins. First, just a slow rustle. And then a ferocious passionate roar of warning of the flood from above that's about to begin�

I miss my friends. I miss my Logan Circle apartment. I miss walking to work. I miss, already, the gorgeous spring which hasn't even happened there yet. I miss the politics, the political debates. I miss the news even. No more Maureen Bunyan, Kathleen Matthews or Gurvir Dhindsa. I miss going to big important meetings with social justice powerbrokers. Even if they are a crock of shit much of the time. I miss hopping in a cab to crash some press conference. I miss working the high profile press at an event. I miss being that kind of bad ass. I miss going The Phase and dancing all dirty with Lindsay to make our girlfriends salivate. I miss how at home I automatically feel in the presence of my dear SNDP crew� I miss feeling like I belong.

<< - >>

content property of me.